The BMI Prize

The Boris Mints Institute was founded with the intention to encourage research, planning and innovative thinking to promote significant positive change in the world. BMI is focusing on finding strategic feasible solutions to provide strategic plans and innovative projects to enhance the welfare of communities around the globe.

Starting 2017, BMI awards a $100,000 prize to an exceptional individual who has devoted his/her research and academic life to the solution of a strategic global challenge, and whose research public action and ideas had transformative impacts on global policy formation and a proven contribution to the welfare of a significant number of communities worldwide.

The 2020 prize will be awarded to an outstanding researcher who had dedicated his/her research to the Poverty and Inequality.
Nominations to the prize will be evaluated through an independent review process by a panel of renowned international experts and policy makers.

  The deadline for receipt of nominations is March 15th, 2020    

BMI Prize 2020 Regulations (PDF)

BMI Prize 2020 Form (Word)

  • The 2019 BMI Prize Laureate is Dr. Peter H. Gleick, Co-Founder and President Emeritus , The Pacific Institute for studies in Development, Environment and Security


  • The 2018 BMI Prize laureate is Prof. Michael Kremer, Gates Professor of Developing Societies, Dept. of Economics, Harvard University.


  • The 2017 BMI Prize Laureate is Prof. Jeffrey D. Sachs, Columbia University

Prof. Michael Kremer was announced as one of three laureates of the 2019 Nobel Prize for Economy - we congratulate Prof. Kremer for his remarkable achievement and wish him and the other prize laureates further success in their research, aiming at fighting poverty and enhancing the welfare of disadvantaged communities worldwide.

According to the BMI Prize regulations, "the winner will commit to contribute 20% of the prize for scholarships to research students, who will be selected by the winner". 
Here you can see the Research report  & a CV of Matthew Goodkin-Gold, a research student of Prof. Kremer.

 Dr. Peter H. Gleick, 2019 BMI Prize Laureate

 The  2019 Prize  Laureat Lecture  
For inquiries, please contact  Tel: +972-3-6408836